Elections to 163 union parishads, 9 municipalities postponed

Published: 10 Jun 2021

Samakal Correspondent

The Election Commission (EC) has postponed elections to 163 union parishads in Khulna, Bagerhat, Satkhira, Noakhali, Chattogram and Cox's Bazar due to a surge in Covid-19 cases.  

After a meeting on Thursday, EC Secretary Humayun Kabir Khandakar told reporters that the EC has decided to postpone the elections following review reports from local administrations and regional election officials and recommendations of Institute of Epidemiology, Disease Control and Research (IEDCR).

He, however, said the election to the rest 204 UP and by-polls to Lakshmipur-2 constituency will be held as per schedule on June 21.

The EC secretary said the commission has also decided to withhold elections to nine municipalities.

By-polls to Dhaka-14, Cumilla-5 and Sylhet-3 will be held on July 28 instead of July 14.

Subject : Elections EC

More News