Budget session of parliament begins

Published: 02 Jun 2021     Updated: 02 Jun 2021

Samakal Correspondent

Maintaining health guidelines due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the budget session for fiscal year 2021-22 began around 5:00pm on Wednesday at the Jatiya Sangsad with Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair.

This is the 13th session of the 11th Parliament and also the third budget session of the Awami League government. 

Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal is set to place the budget for 2021-22 fiscal at 3:00pm on Thursday.

To curb the risk of Covid-19 infection during the budget session of the Parliament, several measures were taken.

This time, media personnel were requested to cover the session through live telecast on Sangsad TV while physically ill and elderly MPs were discouraged from attending the session. 

At the outset of the House proceedings, the speaker nominated a five-member panel of chairmen who will preside over sittings of the House in the absence of the speaker and deputy speaker.

The panel members are: Awami League lawmakers – Shahiduzzaman Sarker (Naogaon-2), AB Tajul Islam (Brahmanbaria-6), Mazaharul Hoque Prodhan, (Panchagarh-1), Jatiya Party MP Anisul Islam Mahmud (Chattogram-5 ) and Rumana Ali, elected in reserved seats for women in Parliament (women seat-14). 

The speaker placed a condolence motion in the Parliament commemorating late MP Abdul Matin Khashru from Cumilla-5   (Brahmmanpara and Burichong upazila) and Aslamul Haque, Dhaka-14. Matin died on April 14 while Aslamul on April 4.