6 to die for killing Shariatpur AL leaders

Published: 21 Mar 2021

Shariatpur Correspondent

A court has sentenced six people to death and four to life imprisonment for killing Awami League leader Habibur Rahman and his brother Monir Hossain in Shariatpur.

Additional District and Sessions Judge Md Shawkat Hossain announced the verdict at noon on Sunday.

The death row convicts are Shahid Talukder, Safiq Kotwal, Shahid Kotwal, Shaheen Kotwal, Solaiman Sardar and Mojibur Talukder.

The convicts who got life term are Sarwar Hossain Babul Talukder, Babul Khan, Dablu Talukder and Tokai Rashid.

On October 5, 2001, Habibur Rahman, a former PP of the Shariatpur District Judge's Court, and his brother Monir Hossain were shot dead.

Habibur Rahman was the president of the District Bar Association and the joint general secretary of the district Awami League. His brother Monir Hossain was the organizing secretary of the municipality Joba League.

After the murder, Habibur Rahman's wife Jinnat Rahman filed the murder case.